The Museum Posterstein castle
The museum was founded in 1952 and is accommodated in the 800-year-old castle Posterstein since that time. Between 1984 and 1991 the castle was restored with funds provided from the offices for historic preservation. At the International Museum’s Day in 1991 the museum reopened with a new concept and newly designed exhibits.
Exhibition: Regional history & a salon from 19th century
In baroque rooms of the castle are exhibitions about the history of the region, and especially emphasized is one about the salon of duchess Dorothea of Courland in the castle of Löbichau.
Read more about our permanent exhibition.
Guided tours in the baroque church
Daily: During the opening hours of the museum, visitors can take part in guided tours in the castle’s baroque church at 11 am, 1 pm and 3 pm.
Shifting special exhibitions
We show shifting special exhibitions in our gallery.